We formed this CoP to disseminate, examine and critically evaluate the extent to which visual learning works in different environments, disciplines, levels, abilities and demographics. The CoP doesn’t prescribe what members do with this idea and there is no formal structure. Whilst it was instigated by David Roberts (Loughborough University), the group’s activities derive from its members’ preferences and ideas. Each member can take the MML method and apply, develop, deviate, evaluate and report on the method however they see fit. Each member can choose how they participate in that process, call meetings and symposia, host teach-ins, share data, develop evaluation methods and post data via the webmaster, Mark Dransfield (York St. John).

The nature of the CoP implies that members will share their findings in professional publications that can be added to the site; write informal blogs as experiments and pedagogic journeys unfold; and support the Community’s needs as they evolve to the extent of their own choosing. This CoP supports learning and teaching, but also supports the idea of Continuous Professional Development (CPD). By participating, members accrue evidence of self-motivated professional development in the domain of learning and teaching.

This CoP comprises the following members (in alphabetical order):

  1. Michelle Aitken-Fischer (Loughborough, UK)
  2. Mark Ashby (Loughborough, UK)
  3. Dr Cecile Brich (York St John University, UK)
  4. Jane Brooks (Loughborough, UK)
  5. Peter Gardner (Loughborough, UK)
  6. Peter Gossman (Worcester University, UK)
  7. Peter Green (University of Huddersfield, UK)
  8. Mark Dransfield (York St John University, UK)
  9. Marie Hanlon (Loughborough University, UK)
  10. Siara Ruth Isaac (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  11. Glyn Littlewood (York St John University, UK)
  12. Bianca Maniscalco (Loughborough College, UK)
  13. Charlie Martineau (York St John University, UK)
  14. Pol Arias Melia (Loughborough University, UK)
  15. Maria Nieswand (Loughborough, UK)
  16. Malcolm Noble (University of Leicester, UK)
  17. Kae Reynolds (Huddersfield University, UK)
  18. Liz Rivers (Huddersfield University, UK)
  19. Dr David Roberts (Loughborough University, UK)
  20. Tim Smith (Huntington University, Indiana, USA)
  21. Janine Weaver (Loughborough College, UK)